Blossoming into Spring

Once upon a time, in a land not-so-far away from my old house, a princess named Karis was born on December 26, 2011 to Steve and Nicole Komanapalli. Prior to this though, Nicole and Steve asked me to paint a mural in their soon-to-be baby’s room and I was so excited and honored to share my art with this amazing family.

To me, there’s nothing more exciting than new beginnings (like a baby)and fresh paint(like a mural)! Here, I was able to transform their once upon a time study, to a happily ever after child’s room. Nicole and Steve asked me to paint a cherry blossom tree that would not only be something peaceful to look at, but also symbolize the significance of their engagement in Washington, D.C. (during the glorious cherry blossom blooming season). Being a big fan of cherry blossoms myself and a fan of natural elements in a home, many of the ideas and concepts came together quickly which made the usually grueling process of planning quite painless!

We talked about various decorative concepts and can I just say that when planning baby’s rooms Together, Nicole, Steve, and myself came up with shabby-chic, contemporary cherry blossom tree! Tah-dah!!

We also last minute adorned the tree with some birds and a carved heart with the initials of Steve and Nicole. I just love those last minute creative moments!

I think the thing I love the most about this mural is the fact that not only does it symbolize a meaningful engagement to the proud parents, but a tree can evoke meanings of family, stability, and strength and what could fit better in baby’s room? πŸ™‚

In addition to the mural, Nicole also asked me to paint a couple of animal paintings on canvas to hang above the crib. The tiger and monkey painting are not images I can take credit for because they are adorable images that I replicated from paintings Nicole found on a website called “Posh Tots” (very cute btw! I highly recommend looking if you have children!). However, the middle painting with birds and a butterfly, I did come up with in order to balance out the aesthetics of the two paintings and to incorporate the bird theme in the room.

 

I am currently still working on the room and adding a few more decorative elements here and there and I’m quite pleased with the way everything is turning out and unfolding. But above all, I’m happy to know such an amazing couple with one of the cutest babies I have seen and to be able to put my art Β in their home, is just the cherry on top of the cake!

8 thoughts on “Blossoming into Spring

  1. Karis’s room turned out beautiful. It is something the Komanapallis will cherish for a long time. Way to go, sis!

  2. What a most beautiful mural befitting a most beautiful princess….
    Lauren you have a wonderful gift of capturing the blessings in life that touches the receiver through their own personal moments….and memorializing them forever… What an art!
    Blessings to you ~ Sally G.

  3. Lauren, you are a true artist and I am so happy to have found your beautiful blog. Fun to hear the creative spontaneous ramblings of Mizz Oshiro The Fabulous… Keep it coming, your art and sharing of your eloquent thoughts is a ray of cheerful light in the chaotic matrix of the web! Love to you!

Leave a Reply

