Taking Flight

Some perspective

Botanical prints are something that I especially love. There is something so beautifully antique/scientific/observant about these images that just appeals to me. There is a book of prints that I absolutely love at the Huntington Library (Pasadena,CA) by John James Audubon that I can’t get out of my head! Many people just assume that Mr. Audubon was just an observer of birds (well…maybe just me!), but aside from his studies and observations, he was a fantastic artist as well!

From the information at the library, it said that Audubon was a pioneer in young America with just his art materials and sense of keen observation. In many ways, I think that’s how most artists feel in the beginning. Ready with their art materials and observing the world around them. So, with that notion in mind, I was inspired to come up with some of my own flora-fauna prints. More specifically, I’m interested in species of flight because of their abilities to do what most people dream of…flying! I really hope that my collection ‘”takes off”! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

