My Favorite Sandwich

Helloooo delicious!

Helloooo delicious!

My neighborhood could easily be renamed “The Brunch District”. In a span of just a few blocks, you can easily park yourself at one of at least ten breakfast nooks, sip your coffee, catch up with friends, and wile the morning away.

“Brunching” became a verb in my vocabulary once I moved to Los Angeles, and might I say “Angelenos” do it best! We show up in workout clothes with unpromising hopes of actually making it to the gym, or in our comfiest jeans and t-shirt that pretty much spell out “W-E-E-K-E-N-D”.

While I do love to get my brunching on from time to time, sometimes there’s just nothing better than making a simple breakfast in the comfort of your own home in your pj’s.

One of my favorite things to make for breakfast (although breakfast time is not exclusive to this…I can eat it any time of the day!), is a simple egg sandwich. Yep, that’s it. No fancy frills or exotic ingredients. Just a simple egg sammie that borders on the edge of perfection and pure happiness.

What You Need (if you’re making just one sandwich):

IMG_1063

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of good sandwich bread
  • mayonnaise
  • sliced Roma tomatoes
  • arugula
  • ketchup (optional…I’m one of those weirdos who loves ketchup with eggs)
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

(*I realize that writing directions for assembling the world’s most simple sandwich is a tad unnecessary and perhaps a slight blow to your intelligence, however this is not the intention… I just really wanted to add pictures.)

1. Pop your bread in the toaster and lightly toast. (I personally like my bread lightly toasted for this sandwich because I find that if the bread is too toasted, all the ingredients slip out. Softer bread gives way for more biting ability!)

2. While the toast is getting its toasty business on, start frying up your eggs. A slightly runny yolk is what I aim for, but if that’s not your thing, cook to your heart’s delight.

IMG_1070

This is your brain… (product of the 80’s)

3. Assembly time!

IMG_1068

4. Season with salt and fresh cracked pepper (fresh cracked pepper is a MUST)

5. Bite and enjoy…

IMG_1064

My favorite part of this sandwich is the first bite! The warm toasty bread, melting with a slightly runny yolk, and a crisp, peppery arugula finish. Dare I say this sandwich is… sexy???

IMG_1067

If Ryan Gosling was a sandwich

If you crave something more decadent, you can also doctor up this sandwich with the following suggestions:

  • heirloom tomatoes 
  • garlic aioli
  • pesto
  • prosciutto
  • carmelized onions
  • shaved parmesan slices
  • goat cheese

Anyway you assemble this sandwich, you’re in for something amazing. However, this sandwich does taste best when eaten in your pajamas. 😉

Leave a Reply

