Friend Spotlight: Lobster Rolls with Suze!

Suze Cover

This is my friend Suze!

Not only is she one of the wittiest and endearing people I know, she also happens to be an amazing cook (which in my mind, is the ultimate triple threat)!

Suze is the kind of girl who can whip up anything from nothing and make it delicious lickety-split! A former personal chef, Suze is my go-to-gal for any cooking questions or ideas. In fact, most of our conversations go something like this:

Suze: Hey! How was your weekend?

Me: Good! I made this chicken thing, but I think it needed more salt or something.

Suze: Oh! You should add chicken stock with a dash of white wine next time! It makes everything so flavorful and pulled together….

See what I mean? I can say “chicken thing”, and right away she knows how to improve it!

With all that skill, it was only natural for me to ask her to share a recipe on my blog (plus…I love any opportunity I can get to cook with my friends)! So, on a Valentine’s morning, Suze showed me how to make one of her favorite recipes—Lobster Rolls.

Suze’s Lobster Rolls

Ingredients: (makes two rolls)

LR Ingredients

  • 2 small lobster tails
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh tarragon (finely chopped)
  • 1 small lemon
  • 1/4-1/2 C. mayonaise (depending on how rich you like your dressing)
  • 4 butter lettuce leaves
  • 2 brioche rolls

Directions:

boiling water

Bring a pot of water to a boil (our pot was about 1-2 inches deep in water) and add salt. Suze told me that salty water is key when steaming lobster. She even told me that some people say that you should steam the lobster in the water it lived in, but in this case, adding a dash of salt will get the job done!

I bought my lobster tails at the fish counter, where I had the fishmonger cut the tails. This helps a lot when you need to get the meat out later!

Cut Lobster Tail

Suze explaining to me the perks of having your lobster tails pre-cut.

Suze explaining to me the perks of having your lobster tails pre-cut.

Once your salted water is boiling, add your lobster tails and cover your pot. We cooked ours for about ten minutes, but cooking time varies on the weight of your lobster. Lobster meat is cooked when the meat is white and firm.

Lobster Boil

Look how pretty the shell turns! I want that red in a nail polish please!

Cooked Lobster

Remove your lobster tails from the boiling water and immerse in an ice bath. This will stop the cooking and allow your lobster meat to cool down.

Lobsters in IceLobsters in Ice2

While your lobsters are cooling, begin to make your dressing.

Cut Celery

Suze demonstrates some serious knife skills! It’s all in the wrist, folks!

Start off, with chopping your celery. Suze is a big texture fan when cooking, and cuts her celery into smaller pieces. She says, that the smaller pieces give the right amount of crunch without competing with the lobster meat. She thinks of everything, doesn’t she?

Chop your shallot into fine pieces.

shallot

Then, bundle your tarragon together and give it a fine chop as well.

I love this picture! I know that it's just tarragon, but it looks so pretty...

I love this picture! I know that it’s just tarragon, but it looks so pretty…

Cut Terragon

Suze explained that the shallot and tarragon do not typically go into the dressing for a traditional lobster roll, but I’m all about pushing the envelope here people! Suze and I, were rebels…

After we chopped our ingredients, Suze showed me how to take the meat out of the lobster tail.

Peeling Lobster

You want to begin by cracking the tail in half from where it was cut. With your fingers, find the gap between the meat and the shell and gently pull the meat out.

Chop your lobster tail into chunks.

Cut Lobster

In a medium sized bowl, squeeze the juice of your lemon and add the mayonnaise.

Lemon Juice

Then, add your celery…

…shallot…

…tarragon…

And….lobster!

Dressing Mixture

Add some salt and pepper and give it all a good mix!

Take your brioche rolls and carve out a small wedge out of the top. Suze said that traditional lobster rolls are served in New England Split Top Buns, but since we have no idea where to find those in Los Angeles, brioche buns are the next best thing!

Cut Roll

Arrange your lettuce leaves in the rolls and add your lobster dressing.

Lobster Roll

Serve with very crunchy kettle chips!

This was a pink champagne..or maybe a sparkling rose?? Either ways it was delicious with our Lobster Rolls!

This sparking rose was the perfect way to toast our successful Lobster Rolls!

Since it was Valentine’s Day, we also ate our lobster rolls with an amazing pink champagne!

Thank you Suze for kickstarting Valentine’s Day off in the right direction! In fact, we might need to make this a Valentine’s morning tradition.

Suze and I 2On a side note, I think we should wear matching stripes more often!

*Thank you also to my bestie Jac for taking such beautiful pictures! xoxo- L

Leave a Reply

