Sweet Chili and Blood Orange Pork Tenderloin

Sweet Chili

Sometimes when I get home from work, nothing sounds better than collapsing on my couch and ordering in.

The idea of cooking something sounds absolutely horrific, and when I think about the clean up afterwards, I’m already digging through my drawer of take-out menus!

As much as I love cooking, the reality is, is that sometimes you just don’t have the energy to whip up an amazing dinner.

Luckily, this recipe for  Sweet Chili and Blood Orange Pork Tenderloin has all the taste of gourmet extravagance with very little prep or cooking involved! It’s the perfect weeknight dinner and since it starts off with a marinade, it practically spells out E-A-S-Y!

Ingredients:

  • Pork Tenderloin
  • 1/2 C. Soy Sauce (Low Sodium or regular)
  • 1/2 C. Olive Oil
  • 2 Blood Oranges (sliced in half)
  • 2 shallots (sliced)
  • 1 tbsp. fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. crushed red chili flakes (you can add more if you like more zing!)
  • 2 Green onions

Directions:

In a gallon-sized freezer bag, place your pork tenderloin.

Then add your soy sauce and olive oil.

Take your blood orange halves and give them a good squeeze!

A Word About Blood Oranges: Whenever I slice into blood oranges, I always feel like I'm looking into stained glass! They are slightly more tart than naval oranges, but incredibly delicious!

A Word About Blood Oranges: Whenever I slice into blood oranges, I always feel like I’m looking into stained glass! They are slightly more tart than naval oranges, but incredibly delicious!

After your oranges have been juiced, simply drop the orange halves in the bag. This will make your marinade more orangey! (Who knew that orangey was a real word?!)

Slice up your shallots and sprinkle into your marinade bag.

IMG_2803

Add your freshly grated ginger…

IMG_2814

I let my micro-plane do all the dirty work for me…

Then, sprinkle in your brown sugar. Honey would also be an excellent substitute!

Finally, add your red chili flakes. I tend to be a spicy food wimp, but you can add as much as you’d like. A fair warning though, a little goes a LONG way with this stuff, so proceed with caution!

IMG_2824

This looks like a ton of chili flakes, but I swear it’s only 1/2 tsp! I have tiny hands…like a T-Rex.

After you have dumped all your ingredients into the bag, give the bag a good seal and start to gently massage the pork tenderloin with the marinade. This will help mix-up your ingredients and also help the meat absorb the marinade. It will also make your pork tenderloin super relaxed…

Stick your pork tenderloin bag in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours to marinate.

You could also do what I did, and make it the day before and forget that you have a pork tenderloin marinating, and proceed to eat cereal for dinner! (Not advised, but it happens.)

Whether you marinate it for 3 hours or 24 hours, all I’m saying is let it marinate! You’ll be happy you did.

When your pork tenderloin is finished marinating (I think I’ve used the word marinate at least twenty times in the last five sentences), place in a lined or buttered casserole dish.

Then stick in a 375* oven for about 25-30 minutes (or until the internal temperature reaches 160*).

For the last five minutes of baking, turn on the broiler and let your pork loin get nice and brown on top. The brown sugar and sugar from the orange juice makes a divine crusty/crackly top. Not only will this look more scrumptious, but it creates a caramelized flavor that is beyond delicious!

When the pork loin is finished cooking, allow to rest for five minutes before cutting into. This way, you won’t be squeezing out all those delicious juices.

Garnish with your chopped green onions.

When serving, I like to scoop up some of those lovely pan drippings right over my pork. Yes, the drippings will include some fat, but it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make.

IMG_2846

I serve this alongside some steamed garlicky green beans and brown rice (both of those items make me feel better about my pan drippings from earlier).

Enjoy!

-L

2 thoughts on “Sweet Chili and Blood Orange Pork Tenderloin

Leave a Reply

