Thin Mint Rice Krispie Treats

IMG_8908

A couple of weeks ago, I had a serious calling for cookies.

I personally blame the Girl Scouts for this.

Do you like how I take zero responsibility in my lack of self-control, here?

But honestly, if those dang cookies came out more than just once a year, I wouldn’t feel so compelled to order 10,000 boxes! I might only order like 5,000.

Those crafty Girl Scouts, man. They know what they’re doing. They know what’s up.

With my marathon training over and a wall of cookies in my kitchen, I knew that I had to do something with these cookies stat! Hence, I thought I would take my precious stash of thin mint cookies, and repurpose them into a St.Patty’s day treat. Thin Mint Rice Krispie Treats!

Not exactly Irish, but will make your other rice krispie treats green with envy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 roll of Thin Mint cookies (you can also use any other minty cookie you may have)
  • 6 C. rice krispie cereal
  • 1 10 oz. bag of mini marshmallows
  • 1/4 C. butter
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. peppermint extract
  • 1 tsp. green food coloring

Optional Dipping:

  • 1 pound of chopped chocolate (I used milk, but dark chocolate would also be divine!)

Directions:

Take your roll of Thin Mint cookies, and coarsely chop them into small pieces. I like having chunks of cookie in my rice krispie treats!

IMG_8785 2

In a small/medium-sized pot, melt your butter and marshmallows over low heat. Stirring occasionally.

IMG_8809 2

Once all your marshmallows have melted, remove the pot from the heat and stir in your vanilla extract.

IMG_8813 2

Then stir in your peppermint extract. (This step smells heavenly…)

IMG_8815

Then stir in your green food coloring.

IMG_8820

In a large bowl, incorporate your rice krispie cereal and your chopped thin mint cookies.

IMG_8825 2

Working rather quickly, add your melted marshmallows to the cereal and cookies and stir until well combined. I highly recommend using a rubber spatula for this part! Some people use their hands, but I’m just not that kind of girl.

IMG_8827_2

Does anyone else think of Slimer from Ghostbusters when they see this?

In a greased 13×9 inch pan, spread out your cereal mixture until even and well-pressed.

IMG_8832

Allow to cool, before cutting into.

When your rice krispie treats are all cooled and cut into squares, you can dip them in chocolate! I watched this video to help me temper my chocolate:

IMG_8908

I hope you enjoy these minty St. Patty’s day treats! Slainte!

-L

2 thoughts on “Thin Mint Rice Krispie Treats

  1. You’re killing me!!! These sound delicious. I wish I had the ingredients to make them tonight! I need to start running more after reading all your yummy recipes.

    • You are too sweet! They take no time at all to make and best of all…you can just say you had to make them for St. Patrick’s day! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

