D.I.Y Bloody Mary Kit

DIYBMK

Recently, I went out to brunch with a few friends to recover from a night of laughs and too many cocktails.

When the server came to our table, I asked for my usual hangover-fix… a Bloody Mary.

Server: “I’m sorry miss, but we don’t serve alcoholic drinks until 11:00 AM”.

(Really? Is it necessary to annunciate “alcoholic drinks”?)

Me: “Sir, I have a hangover. Can you make a tiny exception?”

Server: “I can put your order in, but I can’t bring out till 11:00 a.m.”

Me: “But it’s only 9:30!”

Case in point, learn from me and dodge waiting times and judgey looks by making Bloody Mary’s at home!

These also make amazing gifts too for your friends who also crave Bloody Mary’s at any ‘ol time of the day.

What You’ll Need:

IMG_8946

  • 1  small, flatter container for the Rimming Salt
  • 1 Large Pitcher (for mixing)
  • 1 Large Glass Bottles with a good seal
  • 1 Pack of straws
  • 1 Jar of Olives
  • 1 Pack of toothpicks or cocktail skewers
  • 1 Bundle of Celery
  •  funnel
  • labels (if you wanna get all fancy!)

Ingredients For Bloody Mary Mix:

  • 1 46 oz. Can of Tomato Juice
  • 1 tsp. Prepared Horseradish Sauce
  • 5-8 tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1/3 C. Olive brine (juice from the jar)
  • 1 lime (juiced)
  • 1 tbsp. Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. Freshly Ground Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Salt

Directions:

In a large pitcher, pour in your tomato juice.

IMG_8969

Now get the rest of your ingredients on deck…

Add your horseradish sauce…

IMG_9000

Add your worcestershire sauce…

IMG_8976

Add your olive juice (this may sound gross, but I swear it is soooo essential!)

IMG_8973

Add your lime juice…

IMG_8998

I’d also like to take this moment to show you my adorable citrus juicer. His name is Owlie. If Owlie ever breaks, a part of me will die. I will move on, but no other juicer will be the same.

IMG_8996

Thanks for letting me share that with you.

Add your brown sugar…

IMG_9003

Add your garlic powder…

IMG_9006

Add your pepper…

IMG_9009

And give your Bloody Mary Mix a taste before you add your salt. I like my mix to be on the slightly saltier side (what high blood pressure??), so I add more salt at this point. However, if it tastes just right to you, save your salt!

At this point, you can also add hot sauce to your mix. I find that the vodka is plenty spicy without the hot sauce, but if you’re the spicy kind, you may wish to add some in!

Take your clean bottle, and with a funnel, pour in your Bloody Mary mix.

IMG_9012

Chill in the refrigerator.

IMG_9020

*This mix will keep for about a week. Unless you’re like me, where it will last one…maybe two days.

Ingredients For Infused Vodka:

  • 1 bottle of your favorite vodka (I won’t judge you if you like the cheap stuff!)
  • 1/2  jalapeño
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3-4 Basil Leaves (dill would also be delicious!)

Directions:

Since it seems silly to purchase another bottle for vodka, I figured it was best just to infuse the vodka in it’s own bottle! I soaked my bottle in hot water and added a touch of dish soap to release the bottle labels. After, I scrubbed it with a steel wool sponge to get all the sticky business off!

Moving on to the infusions…

IMG_8917

Slice your jalapeño in half, and remove the seeds and inner membranes. Drop into your vodka.

IMG_8924

*You can keep the seeds in, however, I find the jalapeños to be spicy enough without!

Slice your garlic clove in half, and also add to vodka.

IMG_8926

Bundle your basil leaves together and add to vodka. (I like how everything is ending in “add to vodka”)

IMG_8928

Seal the vodka nice and tight, and give the bottle a few good shakes.

IMG_8937

Store in a dark cabinet for 12 hours, and every few hours, go give your bottle a little shake.

When the 12 hours have passed, remove your jalapeño slice, garlic pieces and basil. This step may require you to dump everything in a pitcher and use a fine sieve.

Ingredients for Rimming Salt:

  • 1 C. Kosher Salt
  • 2 tbsp. Paprika
  • 2 tbsp. Celery Salt
  • 1 tbsp. Minced Onions (dried)
  • 1 tbsp. freshly ground pepper

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine all your ingredients.

IMG_8962

Combine and pour into your flatter jar.

IMG_8964This is what the finished product looks like…

IMG_9035Tah dah!!!!

If you make this for someone, they might ask you to be their best friend, their maid of honor, the Godfather of their first born, or even ask you to never leave! You’ve been warned…

IMG_9040Cheers!

-L

*Photo Credits: Jacqueline Maizland 

www.jacquelinesiobhanphotography.com

2 thoughts on “D.I.Y Bloody Mary Kit

  1. Who serves brunch without alcohol?! That is sheer madness. The best part about going out to breakfast is the fact that you get to drink before noon and no one judges you. I’m pretty sure that’s actually a law somewhere. At any rate I love a good bloody mary — wish someone would give me this kit! Guess I’ll have to settle for making it for myself. =)

    • Jessamine- I couldn’t agree with you more! It HAS to be a law somewhere…
      Thanks for reading and may we both drink Bloody Mary’s any gosh darn time we want! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

