Heirloom Tomato Bacon Cobbler

IMG_9534

Last week, we had a few random days of fall weather. It was like a sneak peek into the next season! It made me excited to finally turn off the AC, and turn on my oven again (it’s the little things really…).

With summer coming to an end and autumn at our feet, it only felt natural to cook up something that tasted how it feels outside.

Heirloom tomato bacon cobbler has the components of a fruity cobbler, but with the savory topping of bacon biscuits! Yup. I put bacon in my biscuits and I’m not even sorry about it.

Heirloom tomatoes are so beautiful and what’s even more awesome, is the idea that they stem from generations of seeds being saved and replanted. Mind blown!

IMG_9475

I hope that you get a chance to make this cobbler before all the heirlooms go out of season!

Ingredients:

Cobbler Topping:

  • 2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 stick of chilled butter
  • 1-2 cups of buttermilk
  • 1 cup of bacon pieces (chopped)

Cobbler Filling:

  • 2-3 Large-Medium sized Heirloom tomatoes
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch

Directions:

I started this cobbler, by first frying up my bacon.

IMG_9454

Once my bacon was cooked, I set it aside (ate a piece) and left the bacon fat in the pan.

I cut my onions into smallish rings, and allowed them to caramelize up in the bacon fat. This step alone makes everything smell SO good! Caramelizing onions takes some time, but it’s a process that is worth every bit of stirring and patience!

IMG_9464

After my onions were cooked, I lightly greased a deep pie dish and created a layer with my caramelized onions.

IMG_9468

Then, I took my heirloom tomatoes and sliced them up into wedges. You could slice them long-ways (like you would to top a burger), but wedges seemed like the right thing to do at the time. Go with your gut!

IMG_9479Toss your tomatoes in a bowl and sprinkle in your salt, sugar, pepper, and fresh thyme. My bestie/roommate is currently growing some fresh herbs, and I figured she wouldn’t mind if I “borrowed” a fews snips of thyme!

IMG_9483

Jac, I promise that I will share my cobbler with you!

In the same bowl of tomatoes, sprinkle in some cornstarch to thicken your mixture.

IMG_9491

Pour or arrange your tomatoes on top of your caramelized onions. I arranged mine, but if you don’t feel fancy, don’t sweat it! The topping ends up covering it all anyways!

IMG_9518

Set aside and begin to make your cobbler topping.

There are many different interpretations for cobbler toppings. Some cobbler tops tend to be more crumble or cake-like, and some are more biscuity. I like mine to be more on the biscuit side because biscuits are ALWAYS a good choice! In fact, why don’t people put biscuits on top of more food? I could definitely be on to something.

I started my biscuits by combining my flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar and butter into a large mixing bowl. Using a pastry cutter, I cut in my butter into the dry ingredients.

IMG_9492

When your butter is mostly incorporated into the dry ingredients, it will look slightly crumbly and be able to keep shape if you squeeze it in your hand.

IMG_9500 (1)

Pour 1 cup of your buttermilk into the center of the dry mixture, and mix with a wooden spoon. The mixture should be somewhat “wet” and not dry. The biscuits will be somewhat of a drop biscuit and that’s why a slightly “wetter” biscuit mix is ideal.

Take your cooked bacon and chop into small pieces. Add the bacon to the biscuit mix.

IMG_9472

I added more buttermilk at this point because I felt like my biscuit mix wasn’t wet enough, but you’ll know as your mixing. Your mixture should be “wet”, but not runny.

When your biscuit mix is ready, place big dollops directly on top of your tomatoes.

IMG_9521

Depending on how much tomato you would like peeking out of the cobbler, use as much or as little of the biscuit mix.

I really like a lot of cobbler topping, so I put big globs of biscuit mix on top of mine!

IMG_9524

Then bake in a 350* oven for about 50 minutes, or until the top of the cobbler is brown and bubbly. I’d also highly recommend putting a cookie sheet under your cobbler for bubbly messes!

Once your cobbler is out of the oven, allow to cool for about 15 minutes on the counter. This will let your cobbler to cool down and thicken.

IMG_9541

I served this to my friend who absolutely despises tomatoes (claims that tomatoes have too many “jibbly bits inside”), and had it not been for the bacon biscuit topping, I’d doubt I’d ever get him to try it. However, upon tasting,having seconds, and then sending him home with leftovers, I’d say I made a tomato-lover out of him!

-L

*All photography done by www.jacquelinesiobhanphotography.com

Leave a Reply

